Apple OSX Lion’s up-to-date offer for Thai is so tricky to find!!

image All of my blog fans may already know that normally I do not update my blog in English. But this time, in order that it may get through Apple, I make it in English. Well, I decided to buy myself a MacBook Pro last month but I was hesitate when knowing that the new OSX Lion is coming some time in July. However, when I learned of the press release from Apple (see image on the right-hand side), I thought to myself “Hmmmm… I will just buy it now and apply to up-to-date program later.” And I know it today that I was wrong about Apple generous offer. imageOSX Lion is out today. The update is available at $29.99 on Mac App Store. But why should I pay for that when I already eligible (as far as I knew that time) for free up-to-date program. So, I googled to find the URL that will lead me to the Up-to-Date Redeem page just to find out that only Mac purchased in the States can be redeemed. What?!? I couldn’t find anywhere that allow foreign users to redeem for the offer. I asked my friend, @TeRry_P, if he knew anything about requesting the up-to-date program from Apple, but no luck. And about 5 minutes later when I tried to read Terms and Conditions for all Up-to-Date Offers, I found this: image

Update: With this blog update, it reflects the most up-to-date info that I got. I know that it’s my bad and I apologize for having accused Apple of something that they didn’t do.

Thanks to all my friends who correct my misunderstanding. In fact, I already knew that the page I visited was for the US and Canada. However, the reason that I wrote this blog in the very beginning was due to the fact that I couldn’t find a link to redeem the offer. There is no link to the redeem page in Apple Thailand site. If you go to http://www.apple.com/th/macosx/, you will see a page that you can enter your email so that you will be notified when OSX Lion is out in the Mac App Store. Nothing else. Thanks to my Google+ friend who told me that the link is http://www.apple.com/asia/macosx/uptodate/. In there, you will find all the links that will lead you to the redeem page for each country in Asia, including Thailand. Too bad, I have tried the link and it seemed my MacBook Pro’s serial number was not in the database. Mr. Carl Oscar Aaro commented below in this blog that there are many Mac users having the same issue. Apple is already aware of the problem and is now working on fixing it. Well, just a matter of time, I suppose. image

Oh! And for those who still have no idea on how to ask for a redeem, this blog might have the info you need.

Update: Finally! I was able to redeem the up-to-date offer. Thanks to all my friends, especially Mr. Carl Oscar Aaro who was the first one to respond to my blog🙂

In order to request the up-to-date offer, you will need to…

1. register your Mac first. Thanks to Mr. Bee below… The registration page is at: https://register.apple.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/GlobaliReg.woa

2. Wait for a couple of days to let Apple update their database. Then, go to http://www.apple.com/asia/macosx/uptodate/ and find a link for Thai customers to redeem the offer. This is the tricky part as the link is not explicitly appear on Apple web site.

3. Fill the form and request for the offer. You will be prompt to follow the instructions.

4. After you are done with everything, you will be informed that you have already bought the upgrade (free-of-charge). Go to Mac App Store to download the upgrade.

 

 

 

 

  1. กรกฎาคม 20, 2011 ที่ 21:25

    Could be because you’re going to US Apple uptodate page. I believe you’re from Thailand right? Take a peak at http://www.apple.com/th/macosx/uptodate/ – doesn’t seem to be updated yet but probably will be in a few hours or so.

    • นายกาฝาก
      กรกฎาคม 20, 2011 ที่ 21:39

      Thank you. My friend gave me the link for Thai people now. (See the update.)
      My serial didn’t work, though. I wonder why.

      • กรกฎาคม 20, 2011 ที่ 21:44

        I have the same problem with the serial. Could be due to having a custom built mac, extra RAM or so. Apparently they’re working on it. https://discussions.apple.com/message/15657906#15657906

      • นายกาฝาก
        กรกฎาคม 20, 2011 ที่ 22:01

        Ah, you are right. I have a custom-built mac, too. I make it HDD500GB instead of 320GB.
        Thank you very much.

  2. Bee
    กรกฎาคม 20, 2011 ที่ 23:31

    พี่ต้องไปลงทะเบียนผลิตภัณฑ์พี่ก่อนนะครับ คือ submit serial เครื่องของเรานั่นเอง https://register.apple.com/cgi-bin/WebObjects/GlobaliReg.woa

    หลังจากนั้นเมื่อระบบรับ serial พี่แล้ว พี่ก็ submit วันที่ซื้อเครื่องอีกที พอถึงตอนนี้ระบบก็รู้สถานะเครื่องเราแล้วครับ

    ขั้นต่อไปก็ไปที่ http://www.apple.com/th/macosx/uptodate

    เราก็ใช้สิทธิ์ของเราได้แล้ว

    แต่ตอนนี้มันดึกฝั่ง asia มั๊ง เค้าเลยยังไม่อัพหน้าลงทะเบียน up to date programm

    หวังว่าพอช่วยได้นะครับ

    • นายกาฝาก
      กรกฎาคม 21, 2011 ที่ 07:32

       ผมเคยทำแล้ว ตอนลงเครื่องมาใหม่ๆ อ่ะครับ (แต่ไม่ได้ทำจากเว็บ แต่ทำจากตัว Mac เองเลย เพราะอยู่ๆ มันขึ้นหน้าจอถามมาอ่ะ) แต่เดี๋ยวจะลองดูใหม่ครับ

      ขอบคุณครับสำหรับข้อมูล

    • นายกาฝาก
      กรกฎาคม 21, 2011 ที่ 09:46

      ขอแก้ไขลิงก์ของคุณ Bee นิดหน่อยนะครับ
      ลิงก์สำหรับไปขอใช้สิทธิ์ Up-to-Date ต้องเป็น

      http://www.apple.com/asia/th/macosx/uptodate นะครับ หรือจะใช้ลิงก์โดยตรงที่ผมโพสต์ไว้ในบล็อกได้เลย

  3. นายกาฝาก
    กรกฎาคม 21, 2011 ที่ 10:18

    Thanks to everyone to help me here. I have updated the blog so that it will be useful for those who are looking for how to redeem of offer.

  4. กรกฎาคม 21, 2011 ที่ 23:34

    ขอบคุณมากครับคุณกาฝาก -___–” ถ้าผมไม่ googling ก็ไม่เจอบทความที่คุณเขียนไว้เลย ตอนแรกผมก็ว่าเอ๊ะ กดเปลี่ยนประเทศแล้วทำไมมันไม่เป็นหน้าเดิม ทำไมมันถึงกลับไปหน้าแรก ก็เลยค้นหาใหม่ มาเจอในบล๊อกคุณนี่แหละ

    ขอบคุณที่ช่วยเหลือคร้าบ

    • tum
      กรกฎาคม 25, 2011 ที่ 12:11

      อยากสอบถามว่าหลังจาก Register ไปแ้ล้วต้องรอได้รับ code จาก apple ใช่มั้ยครับถึงจะ update เป็น lion ได้ขอบคุณครับ

      • นายกาฝาก
        กรกฎาคม 25, 2011 ที่ 13:55

        ยังงงกับคำว่า Register ครับ
        คือ ที่ผมทำไปแล้ว ก่อนอื่น

        1. มั่นใจก่อนว่า register ผลิตภัณฑ์กับ Apple ก่อน ว่าซื้อมาแล้ว
        2. ไปที่ http://www.apple.com/asia/macosx/uptodate/ แล้วหาลิงก์ที่จะไปขอ Up-to-date ของประเทศไทย
        3. กรอกข้อมูล
        4. ถ้าสำเร็จ มันจะให้เราทำตามคำสั่งไปเรื่อยๆ (มีต้องล็อกอินเข้า Apple ID ด้วย)
        5. เรียบร้อย มันจะบอกว่าซื้อ Update แล้ว ในราคาฟรี จากนั้นเราไปที่ Mac App Store เราก็จะเห็นว่ามันเป็น Installed แล้ว แสดงว่าโหลดได้เลย ฟรี

  5. Tum
    กรกฎาคม 25, 2011 ที่ 14:09

    ผมเข้าไปที่ลิ้งนี้อะตอนแรก
    http://www.apple.com/asia/th/macosx/uptodate
    แล้วเข้าไปที่ “ถ้าคุณไม่สามารถใช้สิทธิทาง Apple Online Store คลิกลิงค์นี้ เพื่อใช้สิทธิ Up to Date Program” แล้วผมก็คลิกที่บอกว่า คลิกลิงค์นี้ ทำตามขั้นตอนจนเสร็จ ผมได้รับอีเมล์จาก apple ส่งกลับมาบอกว่า

    Your claim has been received and is currently being processed.

    We will send your App Code by email once your claim has been validated.

    Please make a note of your Claim Reference: xxx-xxxx-xxx

    Kind regards,

    Apple.

    ไม่แน่ใจว่าผมทำผิดขั้นตอนรึเปล่า

    • นายกาฝาก
      กรกฎาคม 25, 2011 ที่ 14:23

      อันนี้ของใหม่แฮะ ผมไม่แน่ใจครับ

  6. Tum
    กรกฎาคม 25, 2011 ที่ 14:36

    ผมลองทำตามที่ นายกาฝากบอก เข้าไปที่ url http://www.apple.com/asia/macosx/uptodate/ พอ login apple id เสร็จทำตามขั้นตอนไปสักพัก มันขึ้นให้ผมใส่เลขที่บัตรเครดิต ผมไม่ใส่มันก็ไม่ยอมให้ผ่าน ทั้งที่บอกว่าให้ Update Free ทำไมต้องใส่บัตรเครดิตด้วยอะ ผมเพิ่งซื้อเครื่องวันที่ 21 ที่ผ่านมาในงาน commart

    ขอบคุณครับ

  7. tangmo
    สิงหาคม 13, 2011 ที่ 01:03

    เจอแบบเดียวกับคุณ Tum ค่ะ สรุปว่า Apple ส่ง App code มาให้ไหมคะ ต้องรอนานขนาดไหนคะ
    ขอบคุณค่ะ

  1. กรกฎาคม 21, 2011 ที่ 01:22

ใส่ความเห็น

